Terminology management

 

Our services at a glance

Terminology management is often used as a synonym to terminology work, which comprises the preparation, validation, standardization, and maintenance of terminological information and terms in one or more languages.

However, terminology management is a much broader concept. It encompasses in particular all tasks related to defining terminology database structures and administering terminology management systems, designing terminology-related processes, describing the roles of all persons involved in such processes, as well as establishing key figures.


Needs analysis

Definition of Termbase Structures

Evaluation of Terminology Management Tools

Terminology Style Guides

Terminology Processes

Cost-benefit Analysis / ROI Calculation

Terminology Extraction

Master Data Optimization

Training / Coaching

Key Figures

Terminology as a service

Temporary Project Management


Needs analysis

Would you like to introduce terminology work into your company? But are you lacking convincing arguments to present to your supervisors or company management? Together with you we will develop the best possible strategy for a course of action, based on the circumstances of your company.

You’ll receive a needs analysis including a detailed catalogue of measures and if required also a roadmap from us, a convincing instrument to support your argumentation, which also considers costs and benefits.

Definition of Termbase Structures

We will support you in designing and configuring your terminology database, tailored to your terminology, your processes and your company. We will define the necessary data categories, determining together with you how they should be positioned and which data categories should be defined as mandatory fields.

Especially if you may want to make use of workflow-controlled terminology work, correct positioning of the necessary fields is a decisive factor for ensuring efficient work. Thanks to our experience, you can avoid costly wrong decisions here.

Evaluation of Terminology Management Tools

Suppose you would like to introduce terminology work and at the same time also implement a terminology management system. But which of the tools on the market will cover your needs for necessary functions?

We will conduct a needs analysis for you and evaluate possible software tools. As the final result we will provide you with a detailed analysis to serve as the basis for making a decision. If necessary we will also support you in a trial run in your company.

If you are also interested in a tool for extracting terminology from existing text inventories, we can also present some suitable tools for this purpose to you.

For selected terminology tools, we will provide specialist support for you based on best practise, answer your questions on request, point out solutions or perform special tasks for you.

Terminology Style Guides

Before you begin standardizing terminology in your company, it is useful to first compile a set of rules defining the most important principles for forming names in your company-specific terminology, starting first with the source language. We normally prepare German terminology style guides and if necessary English as well. Some rules can also be added for other foreign languages if necessary.

Rules with validation criteria and rules for designing definitions and explanations about individual data categories in your terminology database round out the content of your terminology style guide. It guarantees consistent quality and uniformity in your terminology inventories.

Perhaps you’re not sure how and where you should get started. We would be happy to provide support for you in compiling the contents of your terminology style guide.

Based on a representative selection of names derived from terminology extraction, we coordinate with you and your specialist departments to determine the first rules and record them.

Terminology Processes

Would you like to establish terminology work as a process in your company, analyse your existing process and improve it or just introduce new sub-processes?

We will be happy to support you in this area. We will closely and critically examine the existing work steps and interfaces, developing the appropriate processes or sub-processes together with you and the relevant managers and departments.

Cost-benefit Analysis / ROI Calculation

Do you have to work up a business case for a terminology project, but you don’t have any relevant convincing figures? We will develop a representative questionnaire to conduct a survey with the relevant employees in your company. We can also conduct the survey for you if requested.

Based on this survey and the data derived from it, we will fill in a table that can then be used for a cost-benefit analysis or to calculate ROI.

Terminology Extraction

Terminology extraction is a means of obtaining terminology inventories, especially initial inventories. The process involves extracting “term candidates” from a representative text corpus with a special software tool so they are available for further terminological processing.

We provide you with the extracted data in one or two languages in the form of an Excel list, which you can then further process.

Master Data Optimization

There is enormous potential for use of terminology in many companies, especially regarding the master data in their ERP or PDM system, for example in the form of material short texts. By providing uniform and terminologically coordinated naming catalogues in the language of your plant or development, you ensure that all developers will be “speaking the same language” and that new parts that are developed or parts that are revised will be named uniformly. This significantly increases the reusability of your components, cuts unnecessary development and storage costs and leads to savings in purchasing by reducing duplicate orders.

With coordinated naming concepts you will improve the quality of your material texts. You will also be able to use them for external publications, for example a spare parts catalogue, with very little extra work. Making your part names uniform will also reduce incorrect orders from your customers.

You will also be able to create technical documentation faster because the technical editors will not have to spend as much time defining part names. They can simply assume that the names have already been coordinated in the preceding development process. Take advantage of our many years of experience and expertise in this specialised area and optimise your terminology from the very beginning as you develop new products.

Training / Coaching

Do you lack the resources internally to make employees familiar with new terminology processes? Or perhaps you are expanding your terminology processes and now you would like to sensitize and train the relevant target groups. You have already found motivated employees who will be performing terminology tasks in the future, but they have little or no theoretical and practical experience in this area. So you are looking for someone who can deepen the specialized skills of these employees and coach them in their daily work to help them establish more routine.

In addition to training sessions and workshops which we conduct as part of our teaching activities or for organizations, we also offer customized training sessions and workshops for companies. We cover a wide range of topics in this area ranging from the basics of terminology work to the principles of forming names and instruction in processes and tools.

Key Figures

To see whether a process is really efficient, you have to measure it and be able to compare it. The success of a project and whether it has achieved its goals can also be demonstrated by the right key figures.

We will be pleased to support you and your company in developing a concept for suitable key figures and KPIs (Key Performance Indicators) in the area of terminology management.

Terminology as a service

Do you lack the resources to carry out terminology work? We will be happy to perform the following terminology tasks for you as fee-based services:

  • Terminology work in one or more languages
  • Prescriptive (normative) terminology work
  • Systematic terminology work in a special field or for a specific product; also ad hoc terminology work for specific items

We cover this service area together with a competent and experienced team of freelance translators and terminology specialists. We are therefore able to offer a wide range of different languages, areas of expertise and competences.

Temporary Project Management

As project managers, we also conduct complete terminology projects on request and control the entire project on your behalf. You have everything from a single source: from planning to execution with project controlling and through to project completion.

Terminologiemanagement

 

Unsere Leistungen
im Überblick

Oft wird Terminologiemanagement mit der eigentlichen Terminologiearbeit, dem inhaltlichen Aufbereiten, Bereinigen, Abstimmen und Pflegen von terminologischen Daten bzw. Benennungen in einer oder auch mehreren Sprachen, gleichgesetzt.

Dabei ist Terminologiemanagement weitaus umfangreicher und umfasst insbesondere alle Arbeiten rund um die Konzeption und die Verwaltung von Terminologiedatenbanken, das Gestalten von Prozessen, das Definieren von Rollen der Prozessbeteiligten sowie das Ausarbeiten von Kennzahlen.


Bedarfsanalyse

Datenbankkonzeption

Evaluation von Terminologie-Tools

Terminologieleitfaden

Terminologieprozesse

Kosten-Nutzen-Analyse / ROI

Terminologieextraktion

Stammdatenoptimierung

Schulung / Coaching von Mitarbeitern

Kennzahlen

Terminologie „as a service“

Projektmanagement auf Zeit


Bedarfsanalyse

Sie möchten Terminologiearbeit in Ihrem Unternehmen einführen? Es fehlen Ihnen jedoch die notwendigen Argumente gegenüber Ihren Vorgesetzten oder Ihrer Geschäftsleitung? Wir erarbeiten mit Ihnen zusammen aufgrund der Gegebenheiten in Ihrem Hause die bestmögliche Strategie zum Vorgehen.

Mit einer Bedarfsanalyse, die auch Kosten und Nutzen nicht außer Acht lässt, einem detaillierten Maßnahmenkatalog und bei Bedarf auch einer ersten Roadmap, liefern wir Ihnen ein aussagekräftiges Instrument zur Stützung Ihrer Argumentation.

Datenbankkonzeption

Zugeschnitten auf Ihre Terminologie, Ihre Prozesse und Ihr Unternehmen unterstützen wir Sie bei der Konzeption und Konfiguration Ihrer Terminologiedatenbank. Wir legen notwendige Datenkategorien fest, entscheiden über deren richtige Platzierung und legen zusammen mit Ihnen fest, welche Datenkategorien als Pflichtfelder definiert werden.

Insbesondere dann, wenn auch der Wunsch aufkommt workflow-gesteuerte Terminologiearbeit zu machen, ist die richtige Platzierung der dafür notwendigen Felder entscheidend für wirtschaftliches Arbeiten. Dank unserer Erfahrung können Sie hier kostspielige Fehlentscheidungen vermeiden.

Evaluation von Terminologie-Tools

Sie wollen Terminologiearbeit einführen und gleichzeitig auch ein Terminologieverwaltungssystem implementieren. Aber welches der auf dem Markt befindlichen Tools deckt die für Ihre Erfordernisse notwendigen Funktionen ab?

Wir führen für Sie eine Bedarfsanalyse durch und evaluieren daraufhin mögliche Software-Werkzeuge. Als Ergebnis liefern wir Ihnen eine detaillierte Analyse, die Ihnen als Basis zur Entscheidungsfindung dienen soll. Bei Bedarf unterstützen wir Sie auch bei einer Teststellung in Ihrem Hause.

Sollten Sie auch an einem Werkzeug zur Extraktion von Terminologie aus bestehenden Textbeständen interessiert sein, so können wir Ihnen auch hier passende Werkzeuge vorstellen.

Für ausgewählte Terminologiewerkzeuge unterstützen wir Sie fachlich und mit „Best Practice“ und beantworten auf Anfrage Ihre Fragen, zeigen Ihnen Lösungswege auf oder führen für Sie spezielle Aufgaben durch.

Terminologieleitfaden

Bevor Sie mit der Standardisierung der Terminologie in Ihrem Hause beginnen, ist es sinnvoll, zuerst ein Regelwerk zusammenzustellen, das die wichtigsten Grundsätze zur Benennungsbildung Ihrer firmenspezifischen Terminologie definiert, zunächst beginnend mit der Ausgangssprache. Wir erstellen Terminologieleitfäden standardmäßig für die deutsche und bei Bedarf auch englische Sprache. Für weitere Fremdsprachen können gegebenenfalls einzelne Regeln ergänzt werden.

Regeln mit Validierungskriterien und Regeln zur Ausgestaltung von Definitionen, sowie Erklärungen zu den einzelnen Datenkategorien Ihrer Terminologiedatenbank runden den Inhalt Ihres Terminologieleitfadens ab. Er ist der Garant für die gleichbleibende Qualität und Konsistenz Ihrer terminologischen Bestände.

Sie wissen nicht, wie und wo Sie anfangen sollen? Gerne unterstützen wir Sie beim Zusammenstellen der Inhalte Ihres Terminologieleitfadens.

Sie haben noch keine Terminologiebestände? Basierend auf einer repräsentativen Auswahl an Benennungen, die wir mittels einer Terminologieextraktion gewinnen, stimmen wir gemeinsam mit Ihnen und Ihren Fachabteilungen erste Regeln ab und halten diese fest.

Terminologieprozesse

Sie möchten Terminologiearbeit als Prozess in Ihrem Unternehmen etablieren, Ihren bestehenden Prozess analysieren und verbessern oder auch nur neue Teilprozesse einführen?

Gerne unterstützen wir Sie in diesem Bereich. Wir durchleuchten und hinterfragen die bestehenden Arbeitsschritte und Schnittstellen und erarbeiten gemeinsam mit Ihnen und den beteiligten Verantwortlichen und Abteilungen die entsprechenden Prozesse oder Teilprozesse.

Kosten-Nutzen-Analyse / ROI

Sie müssen für ein anstehendes Terminologieprojekt einen Business Case ausarbeiten, es fehlen Ihnen jedoch die entsprechenden aussagekräftigen Zahlen? Wir erarbeiten gemeinsam mit Ihnen einen repräsentativen Fragenkatalog zur Durchführung einer Umfrage bei allen Beteiligten in Ihrem Hause und führen bei Bedarf auch diese Umfrage für Sie durch.

Auf der Basis dieser Umfrage bereiten wir die gewonnenen Daten auf und befüllen damit eine Tabelle, anhand derer dann eine Kosten-Nutzen-Analyse oder eine ROI-Berechnung möglich ist.

Terminologieextraktion

Terminologieextraktion ist ein Mittel zur Gewinnung von Terminologiebeständen, insbesondere von Erstbeständen. Dazu werden aus einem repräsentativen Textkorpus sogenannte Termkandidaten mit einem speziellen Softwarewerkzeug extrahiert und zur weiteren terminologischen Bearbeitung bereitgestellt.

Wir liefern Ihnen die extrahierten Daten, einsprachig oder zweisprachig in Form einer Excel-Liste, die Sie dann weiterverarbeiten können.

Stammdatenoptimierung

Gerade im Bereich der Stammdaten in ihrem ERP- oder PDM-System in Form z. B. von Materialkurztexten findet sich in vielen Firmen ein großes terminologisches Potenzial. Durch das Bereitstellen vereinheitlichter und terminologisch abgestimmter Benennungskataloge in Ihren Werks- bzw. Entwicklungssprachen stellen Sie sicher, dass alle Entwickler die gleiche Sprache sprechen. Und somit Bauteile, die neu entwickelt oder überarbeitet werden, einheitlich benannt werden. Dies erhöht die Wiederverwendbarkeit Ihrer Bauteile erheblich, senkt unnötige Entwicklungs- und Lagerkosten und führt durch die Reduzierung von Dubletten zu Einsparungen beim Einkauf.

Durch abgestimmte Benennungskonzepte verbessern Sie die Textqualität Ihrer Materialtexte und können diese ohne große Nacharbeit auch für externe Publikationen wie beispielsweise Ersatzteilkataloge verwenden. Durch die Vereinheitlichung Ihrer Teilebenennungen reduzieren Sie auch Fehlbestellungen seitens Ihrer Kunden.

Außerdem kann die Erstellung der technischen Dokumentation schneller erfolgen, da die technischen Redakteure weniger Zeit für die Festlegung von Teilebenennungen aufwenden müssen, weil sie davon ausgehen können, dass die Benennungen bereits im vorangehenden Entwicklungsprozess abgestimmt worden sind.

Nutzen Sie unsere jahrelange Erfahrung und Expertise in diesem speziellen Bereich und optimieren Sie Ihre Terminologie von Anfang an bei der Entwicklung neuer Produkte.

Schulung / Coaching von Mitarbeitern

Ihnen fehlen die Ressourcen, um intern Mitarbeiter mit neuen Terminologieprozessen vertraut zu machen. Oder Sie weiten Ihre Terminologieprozesse aus und möchten nun die entsprechenden Zielgruppen sensibilisieren und schulen. Sie haben bereits motivierte Mitarbeiter gefunden, die zukünftig Terminologieaufgaben wahrnehmen sollen, jedoch über wenig oder keinerlei theoretische und praktische Erfahrung in diesem Bereich verfügen. Sie suchen daher jemanden, der die Fachkenntnisse dieser Mitarbeiter vertieft und diese bei ihrer täglichen Arbeit coacht, damit sie etwas mehr Routine bekommen.

Neben Schulungen und Workshops, die wir im Rahmen von Lehrtätigkeiten oder für Verbände durchführen, bieten wir auch maßgeschneiderte Schulungen und Workshops für Unternehmen an. Hier decken wir ein breites Spektrum an Themen ab, das von den Grundlagen der Terminologiearbeit über die Grundsätze der Benennungsbildung bis hin zur Einweisung in Prozesse und Tools reicht.

Kennzahlen

Um zu sehen, ob ein Prozess auch wirklich effizient ist, muss man ihn messen und vergleichbar machen. Auch der Erfolg und die Zielerreichung eines Projekts lassen sich mittels der richtigen Kennzahlen aufzeigen.

Wir unterstützen Sie und Ihr Unternehmen gerne bei der Ausarbeitung eines Konzepts passender Kennzahlen und KPIs (Key Performance Indicator) aus dem Bereich Terminologiemanagement.

Terminologie „as a service“

Ihnen fehlen die Ressourcen zur Durchführung von
Terminologiearbeit? Wir führen für Sie folgende
Terminologiearbeiten gegen Honorar durch:

  • Einsprachige oder mehrsprachige Terminologiearbeit
  • Präskriptive, d.h. normierende Terminologiearbeit
  • Systematische Terminologiearbeit zu einem speziellen Sachgebiet oder einem bestimmten Produkt; bei Bedarf auch punktuelle, d.h. Adhoc-Terminologiearbeit

Diesen Dienstleistungsbereich decken wir zusammen mit
einem kompetenten und erfahrenen Team an freiberuflich
tätigen Übersetzern und Terminologen ab. So steht hier ein großes Spektrum an verschiedenen Sprachen, Fachgebieten und Kompetenzen zur Verfügung.

Projektmanagement auf Zeit

Als Projektleiter führen wir auf Anfrage auch komplette Terminologieprojekte durch und steuern so das gesamte Projekt in Ihrem Auftrag. Sie bekommen alles aus einer Hand: von der Planung über die Durchführung mit dem Projektcontrolling bis zum Projektabschluss.