Linguistic Quality Assurance

Our services at a glance

Uniform writing and style rules, at least for the source language, together with consistent use of standardized terminology are an important precondition – along with content structuring – for ensuring high reusability rates for modules, sentences or text fragments when using Content Management Systems (CMS) with or without authoring support.

Today linguistic quality assurance, especially for the source language, is performed more and more by downstream language checking programs (also called language checkers) and by authoring support systems that run in parallel to the writing process. No longer limited simply to spell checking, it now also includes terminology and style rules, especially as part of a controlled language system such as rule-based writing according to tekom guidelines or ASD Simplified Technical English.

As mentioned previously, quality control is an important precondition for achieving high reusability rates in translations, which in turn has an especially positive effect on translation costs in the medium term.

Using appropriate quality assurance measures both in the source texts and in the translated target language texts will also significantly enhance the quality of the translations themselves.

Suitable sets of rules are therefore necessary for both automated and manual linguistic checking. But these sets of rules are not simply available ready-made. Instead they have to be adapted to the specific features of the relevant company.


Needs analysis

Evaluation of Language Checking Tools

Style Guides / Writing Guidelines

Training / Coaching

Proofreading and Review Processes

Proofreading as a service


Needs analysis

Would you like to introduce terminology work into your company? But are you lacking convincing arguments to present to your supervisors or company management? Together with you we will develop the best possible strategy for a course of action, based on the circumstances of your company.

You’ll receive a needs analysis including a detailed catalogue of measures and if required also a roadmap from us, a convincing instrument to support your argumentation, which also considers costs and benefits.

Evaluation of Language Checking Tools

Would you like to check and improve the linguistic quality of your texts by introducing a language checking tool? But which of the tools on the market will cover your needs for necessary functions? We will conduct a needs analysis for you and evaluate possible software tools. As the final result we will provide you with a detailed analysis to serve as the basis for making a decision.

Style Guides / Writing Guidelines

Do you want to safeguard the quality of source language texts while simultaneously cutting translation costs? But are you not yet creating your content based on uniform principles of comprehensibility? Then in addition to consistently using your terminology, you should also begin creating your documents appropriately for translation, in other words more consistently and in compliance with rules.

We would be happy to develop a set of rules tailored to your needs together with you in the form of writing guidelines. There are standardized systems available as a temporary measure, for example rule-based writing according to the tekom guideline, but they still need to be adapted individually to the specific structures and features of your company.

Training / Coaching

You have created some new writing rules and now you would like to introduce them. We would be happy to train your employees and introduce them to the new writing rules with practical exercises and illustrative examples. You have tasked an employee with introducing new writing rules or a language checking tool in the company. You would also like to provide external support for him so he can manage the task more confidently with an experienced expert at his side. We will be happy to provide our experience and coach your employee.

Proofreading and Review Processes

Would you like to establish linguistic quality assurance in your company or analyse and improve your existing process? We will be happy to support you in this area. We will closely and critically examine the existing work steps and interfaces together with you and the relevant managers and departments, developing strategies and guidelines to make proofreading or revision of texts more efficient.

Proofreading as a service

Do you write, and would you like to publish without errors? We will be happy to check your German or English texts for spelling, grammar, typography, punctuation, uniformity, terminology and content.

Sprachliche Qualitätssicherung

Unsere Leistungen
im Überblick

Einheitliche Schreib- und Stilregeln, zumindest für die Ausgangssprache, sowie die konsistente Verwendung standardisierter Terminologie, sind heute neben der inhaltlichen Strukturierung eine wichtige Voraussetzung für eine hohe Wiederverwendungsrate von Bausteinen, Sätzen oder Textfragmenten beim Einsatz von Content-Management-Systemen (CMS) mit und ohne Autorenunterstützung.

Die sprachliche Qualitätssicherung, insbesondere der Ausgangssprache, wird heute mehr und mehr durch nachgelagerte Sprachprüfprogramme – oft auch als Language Checkers bezeichnet – und durch parallel zum Schreiben verlaufende Autorenunterstützung durchgeführt. Sie beschränkt sich nicht mehr nur auf die reine Rechtschreibprüfung, sondern umfasst auch Terminologie und Stilregeln, insbesondere im Rahmen von kontrollierter Sprache, wie z. B. Regelbasiertes Schreiben gemäß Tekom-Richtlinien oder ASD Simplified Technical English.

Für das Erzielen hoher Wiederverwendungsraten bei Übersetzungen, was sich mittelfristig insbesondere positiv auf die Übersetzungskosten auswirkt, ist die Qualitätskontrolle, wie bereits erwähnt, eine wichtige Voraussetzung. Der Einsatz entsprechender Qualitätssicherungsmaßnahmen sowohl bei den Ausgangstexten als auch bei den übersetzten, zielsprachlichen Texten führt zude auch zu deutlichen Qualitätssteigerungen bei den Übersetzungen an sich.

Daher sind sowohl für die automatisierte als auch die manuelle Sprachprüfung entsprechende Regelwerke notwendig. Derartige Regelwerke gibt es jedoch nicht von der Stange, vielmehr müssen sie jeweils an die unternehmensspezifischen Gegebenheiten angepasst werden.


Bedarfsanalyse

Evaluation von Sprachprüfwerkzeugen

Styleguides / Schreibrichtlinien

Schulung / Coaching von Mitarbeitern

Korrektorats- und Reviewprozesse

Korrektorat als Dienstleistung


Bedarfsanalyse

Sie möchten Terminologiearbeit in Ihrem Unternehmen einführen? Es fehlen Ihnen jedoch die notwendigen Argumente gegenüber Ihren Vorgesetzten oder Ihrer Geschäftsleitung? Wir erarbeiten mit Ihnen zusammen aufgrund der Gegebenheiten in Ihrem Hause die bestmögliche Strategie zum Vorgehen.

Mit einer Bedarfsanalyse, die auch Kosten und Nutzen nicht außer Acht lässt, einem detaillierten Maßnahmenkatalog und bei Bedarf auch einer ersten Roadmap, liefern wir Ihnen ein aussagekräftiges Instrument zur Stützung Ihrer Argumentation.

Evaluation von Sprachprüfwerkzeugen

Sie wollen die sprachliche Qualität Ihrer Texte durch die Einführung eines Sprachprüfwerkzeugs prüfen und verbessern? Aber welches der auf dem Markt befindlichen Tools deckt die für Ihre Erfordernisse notwendigen Funktionen ab? Wir führen für Sie eine Bedarfsanalyse durch und evaluieren daraufhin mögliche Software-Werkzeuge. Als Ergebnis liefern wir Ihnen eine detaillierte Analyse, die Ihnen als Basis für die Entscheidungsfindung dienen soll.

Styleguides / Schreibrichtlinien

Sie wollen die Qualität Ihrer Ausgangstexte sichern und dabei gleichzeitig Übersetzungskosten senken? Sie erstellen Ihre Inhalte jedoch noch nicht nach einheitlichen Prinzipien der Verständlichkeit? Dann sollten Sie neben der konsistenten Verwendung Ihrer Terminologie auch damit beginnen Ihre Dokumente übersetzungsgerecht, d.h. konsistenter und regelkonform, zu erstellen.

Gerne erarbeiten wir zusammen mit Ihnen ein auf ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnittenes Regelwerk in Form von Schreibrichtlinien. Es gibt zwar inzwischen standardisierende Werke wie Regelbasiertes Schreiben gemäß Tekom-Richtlinie, diese müssen jedoch noch individuell an die jeweiligen Strukturen und Gegebenheiten im Unternehmen angepasst werden.

Schulung / Coaching von Mitarbeitern

Sie haben neue Schreibrichtlinien erstellt und möchten diese nun einführen. Gerne schulen wir Ihre Mitarbeiter und führen diese an die neuen Schreibregeln mit praktischen Übungen und anschaulichen Beispielen heran. Sie haben einen Mitarbeiter damit betraut neue Schreibregeln oder ein Sprachprüfwerkzeug im Unternehmen einzuführen. Sie möchten ihm zusätzlich externe Unterstützung zur Seite stellen, damit er an der Seite eines erfahreneren Experten diese Aufgabe sicherer bewältigen kann. Gerne bringen wir unsere Erfahrung ein und coachen Ihren Mitarbeiter.

Korrektorats- und Reviewprozesse

Sie möchten die sprachliche Qualitätssicherung in Ihrem Unternehmen etablieren oder Ihren bestehenden Prozess analysieren und verbessern? Gerne unterstützen wir Sie in diesem Bereich. Wir durchleuchten und hinterfragen die bestehenden Arbeitsschritte und Schnittstellen und erarbeiten gemeinsam mit Ihnen und den beteiligten Verantwortlichen und Abteilungen Strategien und Richtlinien, um das Korrektorat oder die Revision von Texten effizienter zu gestalten.

Korrektorat als Dienstleistung

Sie schreiben und wollen fehlerfrei publizieren? Gerne kontrollieren wir Ihre deutschen oder englischen Texte auf Rechtschreibung, Grammatik, Typografie, Interpunktion, Einheitlichkeit, Terminologie und Inhalt.