Franziska Fischer

Franziska Fischer

Terminologist and Project Manager

Since January 2020 I’ve been part of the team of Büro b3. After writing my bachelor’s thesis on the topic of terminology and language checkers here, I am now working as a terminologist and project manager in the field of terminology services. The knowledge and skills I acquired as a translator (state-certified and B.A.) for German and English, specializing in technology and the humanities, I can now use for terminological purposes.

Ever since I was little, I’ve been fascinated by the fact that one and the same subject can be expressed in different languages, and yet, every recipient understands exactly what is meant. This fascination first inspired me to study translation and then led me into terminology management. Being a terminologist does not only require professional expertise and enthusiasm for the respective languages, but also a general thirst for knowledge and a certain strive for perfection – as a terminologist you often have to be a stickler for detail. All these qualities characterize me and I am happy to be part of our team.

Professional career

  • 2019 – 2020: International University SDI Munich – Translation Studies, graduated as Bachelor of Arts
  • 2016 – 2020: IFA Erlangen – Studies in translation and interpreting for German and English with Spanish as a second language, specializing in technology and the humanities; graduated as state-certified translator

Language skills

German (native speaker), English (fluent), French (basic skills), Spanish (basic skills), Swedish (basic skills)

Tools

  • SDL MultiTerm (with certification)
  • SDL Trados Studio (with certification)
  • memoQ Pro
  • LookUp
  • Wordbee
  • [i]-match
  • TermXact
  • SynchroTerm
  • checkTerm
  • Velingua
  • WPML for WordPress

Memberships

  • tekom

Social networks

Tools

Terminologiewerkzeuge

  • SDL MultiTerm (with certification)
  • SDL Trados Studio (with certification)
  • memoQ Pro
  • LookUp
  • Wordbee
  • [i]match
  • TermXact
  • Synchroterm
  • checkTerm
  • Velingua
  • WPML for WordPress

mehr…

Franziska Fischer

Franziska Fischer

Terminologin und Projektleiterin

Seit Januar 2020 unterstütze ich das Team von Büro b3. Nachdem ich zunächst meine Bachelor­arbeit zum Thema Terminologie­prüfprogramme hier schreiben durfte, bin ich mittlerweile als Terminologin und Projekt­leiterin im Bereich Terminologie­dienst­leistungen tätig. Meine Kenntnisse, die ich als Übersetzerin (staatlich geprüft und B.A.) für Deutsch und Englisch mit den Fach­richtungen Technik und Geistes­wissenschaften erwerben konnte, kann ich nun auch für terminologische Zwecke nutzen.

Es faszinierte mich schon von klein auf, dass ein und derselbe Sachverhalt in verschiedenen Sprachen dargestellt werden kann, und jeder Rezipient trotzdem genau versteht, was gemeint ist. Diese Faszination führte mich zunächst in mein Übersetzer­studium und schließlich ins Terminologie­management. Der Beruf des Terminologen erfordert jedoch nicht nur Fachkompetenz und Begeisterung für die jeweiligen Sprachen, sondern auch Wissbegierigkeit und ein gewisses Streben nach Perfektion – denn in der Terminologi­earbeit muss man Dinge schon sehr genau nehmen. All diese Eigenschaften zeichnen mich aus und daher freu ich mich, Teil unseres Teams sein zu dürfen.

Werdegang

  • 2019 bis 2020: Studium Übersetzen an der Internationalen Hochschule des SDI München, Abschluss Bachelor of Arts
  • 2016 bis 2020: Studium Übersetzen und Dolmetschen für Deutsch und Englisch mit Nebensprache Spanisch und Fachgebieten Technik und Geisteswissenschaften an der Fachakademie des IFA Erlangen, Abschluss als staatlich geprüfte Übersetzerin

Sprachkenntnisse

Deutsch (Muttersprache), Englisch (fließend), Französisch (Grundkenntnisse), Spanisch (Grundkenntnisse), Schwedisch (Grundkenntnisse)

Tools

  • Trados MultiTerm (Zertifizierung)
  • Trados Studio (Zertifizierung)
  • memoQ Pro
  • LookUp
  • Wordbee
  • [i]match
  • TermXact
  • Synchroterm
  • checkTerm
  • Velingua
  • WPML für WordPress
  • APSic Xbench

Mitgliedschaften

  • DTT (Deutscher Terminologietag e.V.)
  • tekom

Soziale Netzwerke

Tools

Terminologiewerkzeuge

  • Trados MultiTerm (Zertifizierung)
  • Trados Studio (Zertifizierung)
  • memoQ Pro
  • LookUp
  • Wordbee
  • [i]match
  • TermXact
  • Synchroterm
  • checkTerm
  • Velingua
  • WPML für WordPress
  • APSic Xbench

mehr…

Vorträge & Workshops

RWS Trados Live Terminology –
a critical test from a professional terminologists view

Präsentation (in englischer Sprache) anlässlich der ETUG 2021

mehr…