Taxonomy Design

 

Terminology and taxonomy – a nice alliterative pair, or something more?

Both are terms used in connection with managing and organizing knowledge. Both are products featuring more or less structured collections of terms (controlled vocabularies, taxonomies) and concepts (terminology, thesaurus, ontology). And although they might seem different at first glance, a closer examination reveals numerous similarities and especially synergies.

Controlled vocabularies in various forms are a representation of organizational structures with different goals. We encounter them unknowingly in many day-to-day situations: from simple drop-down menus to catalogue structures, navigation structures on the Intranet and Internet, subject catalogues and indices, etc. The layout of a supermarket and its grouping of goods is usually based on a structure that can be represented by a taxonomy. Ontologies based on controlled vocabularies are the most complex expression of this kind of organizational structure.

And what do all these products have in common? They arrange or organize knowledge, thereby helping to prepare it so that users can find specific details more easily, thus making the knowledge more readily accessible and useable. The methods used by taxonomy developers and terminologists are similar.

As service providers we combine the two worlds. We would be happy to offer you consultation and support for creating and developing all kinds of taxonomies. We make use of already existing terminology inventories if they are available and develop them for taxonomies or ontologies. On the other hand we can also make use of controlled vocabularies to develop inventories for terminology work.

Taxonomiedesign

 

Terminologie und Taxonomie, nur eine schöne Alliteration oder doch mehr?

Beides sind Begriffe, die im Zusammenhang mit Wissensmanagement und Wissensorganisation genannt werden. Sie haben jeweils als Produkt mehr oder weniger strukturierte Sammlungen von Benennungen (Kontrollierte Vokabulare, Taxonomien) und Begriffen (Terminologie, Thesaurus, Ontologie). Und obwohl sie auf den ersten Blick unterschiedlich erscheinen, so lassen sich doch bei genauerem Hinsehen zahlreiche Gemeinsamkeiten und insbesondere auch Synergien erkennen.

Kontrollierte Vokabulare in ihren verschiedenen Ausprägungen sind eine Darstellung von Organisationstrukturen mit unterschiedlichen Zielsetzungen. Sie begegnen uns unbewusst in vielen Lebenslagen: von einfachen Auswahllisten bis hin zu Katalogstrukturen, Navigationsstrukturen im Intranet und Internet, Schlagwortkataloge, Indexe etc. aber auch der Aufbau eines Supermarktes und seiner Warengruppen beruht meist auf einer Struktur, die durch eine Taxonomie repräsentiert werden kann. Ontologien, die auf kontrollierten Vokabularen aufgebaut sind, sind die komplexeste Ausprägung einer solchen Organisationsstruktur.

Und was haben all diese Produkte gemeinsam? Sie ordnen bzw. organisieren Wissen und helfen dabei, das Wissen so aufzubereiten, dass es für die Anwender leichter auffindbar und damit leichter zugänglich und nutzbar wird. Die Methoden mit denen Taxonomieentwickler und Terminologen arbeiten sind ähnlich.

Wir als Dienstleister verbinden beide Welten. Wir beraten und unterstützen Sie bei der Erstellung von Taxonomien aller Art bzw. erarbeiten diese auch gerne für Sie. Wo vorhanden, greifen wir auf bereits bestehende terminologische Bestände zurück und machen diese für Taxonomien oder Ontologien nutzbar. Auf der anderen Seite sind wir auch in der Lage aus kontrollierten Vokabularen Bestände für die Terminlogiearbeit nutzbar zu machen.